Area Codes for Agra and Nearby Locations

The area code used in the Agra metropolitan area is: 562. Area codes for other locations near Agra, Uttar Pradesh are shown below.

In India, area codes are often called STD codes -- STD stands for 'subscriber trunk dialing'. To make things more confusing, they are also called SDCA codes. SDCA stands for 'short distance charging area'. So this means that in India:

area code = STD code = SDCA code

Agra STD / area code

In India, area codes / STD codes are used somewhat differently than in other parts of the world. Specifically, the physical area and/or population that they cover is often quite small. As a result, India has hundreds and hundreds of STD codes -- many, many more than most countries.

Plus, area codes / STD codes are used only for landline phone numbers. Mobile phone numbers in India do not utilize area codes. Instead, the mobile prefixes '9x' and '8x' are used for all mobile numbers regardless of where the subscriber is based.

As a result, the Agra area codes listed on this page are only applicable when dialing to landline phone numbers.

To make an inbound international call (or domestic long distance call) to an Agra landline phone, you need to dial a 3-digit area code, along with a 7-digit local subscriber number - 10-digits total.

If you are calling an Agra mobile phone number, you should not use this area code. Click here for further details on dialing an Agra mobile phone number - and for information on how to tell a landline number from a mobile number.

Click for more on dialing an Agra landline number.

STD Codes / Area Codes for the Agra, India Area

Agra is located in the Upper Pradesh West telecom circle. The following table lists the STD codes for all locations in the UPW telecom circle. more on India telecom circles >>>>

In the table, 'LDCA' and 'SDCA' refer to 'long distance charging area' and 'short distance charging area', respectively. Generally speaking, SDCAs correspond roughly to towns. LDCAs are larger and correspond roughly to counties or districts. LDCAs contain multiple SDCAs.

STD Codes for Agra and Other Locations
in the Upper Pradesh West Telecom Circle

-- click headers to sort by column --

LDCASDCAsort iconSTD Code
Agra Achhnera 5613
Agra Agra 562
Etah Aliganj (Ganjdundwara) 5740
Aligarh Aligarh 571
Almora Almora 5962
Moradabad Amroha 5922
Bareilly Aonla-I 5823
Bareilly Aonla-II (Ramnagar) 5824
Aligarh Atrauli 5723
Badaun Badaun 5832
Almora Bageshwar 5963
Meerut Baghpat-II (Baraut) 1234
Bareilly Baheri 5822
Bareilly Bareilly 581
Uttarkashi Bhatwari-I (Gangotri) 1377
Uttarkashi Bhatwari-I (Uttarkashi) 1374
Bijnore Bijnore-I 1342
Bijnore Bijnore-II (Chandpur) 1345
Moradabad Bilari 5921
Pilibhit Bisalpur 5881
Badaun Bisauli 5834
Muzaffarnagar Budhana 1392
Ghaziabad Bulandshahr 5732
Dehradun Chakrata (Dakpather) 1360
Kotdwara Chamoli 1372
Almora Champawat 5965
Mathura Chhata (Kosikalan) 5662
Badaun Dataganj 5831
Ghaziabad Debai 5734
Dehradun Dehradun 135
Saharanpur Deoband 1336
Uttarkashi Deoprayag-I 1378
Uttarkashi Deoprayag-II (Jakholi) 1370
Bijnore Dhampur 1344
Almora Dharchula 5967
Uttarkashi Dunda 1371
Etah Etah 5742
Agra Ferozabad 5612
Ghaziabad Garhmukteshwar 5731
Ghaziabad Ghaziabad+Dadri 120
Badaun Gunnaur 5836
Nainital Haldwani-I 5946
Nainital Haldwani-II (Chorgalian) 5945
Ghaziabad Hapur 122
Moradabad Hasanpur 5924
Aligarh Hathras 5722
Etah Jalesar 5745
Muzaffarnagar Jansath (Khatauli) 1396
Agra Jarar 5614
Kotdwara Joshimath-I 1389
Kotdwara Joshimath-II (Badrinath) 1381
Muzaffarnagar Kairana (Shamli) 1398
Kotdwara Karan Prayag 1363
Etah Kasganj 5744
Nainital Kashipur 5947
Aligarh Khair 5724
Nainital Khatima 5943
Nainital Khatima-II (Sitarganj) 5948
Ghaziabad Khurja 5738
Nainital Kichha-I (Rudrapur) 5944
Nainital Kichha-II (Bazpur) 5949
Kotdwara Lansdown-I 1386
Kotdwara Lansdown-II (Kotdwara) 1382
Kotdwara Lansdown-III (Syunsi) 1348
Mathura Mant (Vrindavan) 5664
Mathura Mathura 565
Meerut Mawana 1233
Meerut Meerut 121
Ghaziabad Modinagar 1232
Moradabad Moradabad 591
Almora Munsiari 5961
Muzaffarnagar Muzaffar Nagar 131
Bijnore Nagina 1343
Nainital Nainital 5942
Bijnore Najibabad 1341
Saharanpur Nakur (Gangoh) 1331
Bareilly Nawabganj 5825
Ghaziabad Pahasu 5733
Uttarkashi Partapnagar 1379
Kotdwara Pauri-I 1368
Kotdwara Pauri-II (Bubakhal) 1346
Pilibhit Pilibhit 5882
Bareilly Pitamberpur 5821
Almora Pithoragarh 5964
Pilibhit Puranpur 5880
Uttarkashi Purola 1373
Uttarkashi Rajgarhi 1375
Rampur Rampur 595
Almora Ranikhet 5966
Saharanpur Roorkee-I 1332
Saharanpur Roorkee-II (Hardwar) 1334
Mathura Sadabad 5661
Saharanpur Saharanpur 132
Badaun Sahaswan 5833
Moradabad Sambhal 5923
Meerut Sardhana 1237
Rampur Shahabad 5960
Ghaziabad Sikandrabad 5735
Aligarh Sikandra Rao 5721
Ghaziabad Siyana 5736
Uttarkashi Tehri 1376
Kotdwara Ukhimath (Guptkashi) 1364

Phone Number Formatting Guidelines

For dialing purposes, please take note of the following:

  • For areas with 2-digit STD codes: Subscriber numbers for areas with 2-digit area codes are 8-digits long (10-digits total).
  • For areas with 3-digit STD codes: Subscriber numbers for areas with 3-digit area codes are 7-digits long (10-digits total).
  • For areas with 4-digit STD codes: Subscriber numbers for areas with 4-digit area codes are 6-digits long (10-digits total).

In all cases, these numbering rules allow the final complete phone number to conform to the required 10-digit telephone number format that is standard throughout India for landline phones.

Mobile phones are also currently 10-digits long, but STD codes do not apply to them.

Please check India's official National Numbering Plan (large pdf) for a complete list of India area codes / SDCA codes.

Back to top

In some cases, area codes may be referred to as city codes. However, a 'city code' more correctly refers to the codes used for airports and other geographic designations under the UN's UN/LOCODE system and/or the IATA airport coding system. The city code for Agra is AGR.

Agra online telephone directories
Agra telephone companies

Back to top

Related Pages

Sorry, no related content.